CWIS NON-FLAIL Clinical Trial

A multicenter, prospective, controlled clinical trial of surgical stabilization of rib fractures in patients with severe, non-flail fracture pattern

Fredric M. Pieracci, MD, MPH, FACS
Principal investigator:

Fredric M. Pieracci, MD, MPH, FACS

a

Identifiers:

CWIS Study ID: CWIS NON-FLAIL
NCT trial no. 03221595
COMIRB study ID: 17-1432
JTACS MS no. JT-D-10-10019R2
DPS grant ID: DPS-TCMF-2017-016
PMID 31804414

Hypothesis: SSRF, as compared to standardized non-operative management, improves pain control, pulmonary function, risk of complications, and quality of life among patients with severe, non-flail chest fracture patterns
Acute Innovations
UPDATE: THIS TRIAL COMPLETED ENROLLMENT IN JUNE, 2019, AND HAS BEEN ACCEPTED FOR PUBLICATION IN THE JOURNAL OF TRAUMA AND ACUTE CARE SURGERY. LINK: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/31804414
The objective of this trial was to investigate the efficacy of surgical stabilization of rib fractures (SSRF), as compared to non-operative management, for hospitalized patients with non-flail, severe rib fractures.
The study was conducted within 12 expert, high volume centers that participate in the Chest Wall Injury Society (CWIS).
The trial was sponsored in part by an investigator-initiated research grant fro DePuy Synthes, Inc.

Full slide deck available

These standard trial slides include methods and results - and are exclusive for CWIS members.  They cannot be modified from their original form.

Participating Site PIs

Fredric M. Pieracci, MD, MPH
Denver Health Medical Center, Denver CO
Fredric.pieracci@dhha.org

Kiara Leasia, MD
Denver Health Medical Center, Denver CO
Kiara.Leasia@dhha.org

Zach Bauman, DO
Univ. of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
Zachary.bauman@unmc.edu

Evert A. Eriksson, MD
Medical Univ. of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
Evert.eriksson@gmail.com

Lawrence Lottenberg, MD
St. Mary’s Medical Center, West Palm Beach, FL
Larwence.lottenberg@gmail.com

Sarah Majercik, MD
Intermountain Medical Center, Murray, UT
Sarah.majercik@imail.org

Ledford Powell, MD
St. Joseph Health, Mission Viejo, CA
Ledford.powell@gmail.com

Babak Sarani, MD
George Washington University, Washington, DC
bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu

Gregory Semon, DO
Wright State University/Miami Valley Hospital
gsemon@premierhealth.com

Bradley Thomas, MD
Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC
Bradley.thomas@carolinashealthcare.org

Frank Zhao, MD
The Queens Medical Center, Honolulu, HI
Frank.z.zhao@gmail.com

Cornelius Dyke, MD
Sanford Health, Fargo, ND
Cornelius.dyke@sanfordhealth.org

Andrew R. Doben, MD
Baystate Medical Center, Springfield, MA
andy@dobenonline.com